2018:
Project
development
in Tanzania
Image-Bild

Saint Lucy Foundation

A ray of hope for the visually impaired in regions in need

The Saint Lucy Foundation is an autonomous and independent Swiss foundation founded by a dedicated Swiss couple, both who are retired physicians, with the aim of helping impoverished visually-impaired people across the globe.

All of those involved contribute their time and efforts free of charge and with great dedication and passion to achieve the goal of the foundation so that donations reach as many as possible with the urgently needed treatment.

Saint Lucy Foundation

Take a closer look and protect the disadvantaged against blindness

The Saint Lucy Foundation, established in 2013, has committed itself to reaching as many people as possible in the poorest regions of the world to restore the gift of sight, sharpen their eyesight, prevent eye diseases and improve treatment.

To achieve this goal, the foundation provides surgery, delivers treatment, trains local medical staff, works together with other organizations and finances or supports medical institutions.

For many of the disadvantaged, healthy eyes can mean the first pivotal steps back to leading an independent, self-sufficient life. Join us in giving this opportunity to as many as possible.

From a glimmer of hope to a bright outlook

Across the globe, there are an estimated 39 million people suffering from blindness. Approximately one-half lost their vision because of lens opacity, also referred to as cataracts. Yet this common cause is completely curable with only a short surgical intervention.

2018:
Project
development
in Tanzania

Saint Lucy Foundation

We go where others look away

We focus on treating cataract patients, who represent 50% of the blind worldwide. The causes of cataracts vary, but this condition is usually a sign of ageing. However, in developing regions it occurs 10 to 15 years earlier than it would here. Age-related cataracts are typically caused by metabolic diseases and tissue ageing, but cataracts can also be congenital or the result of injury. The eye lens first becomes clouded and then entirely opaque in a matter of months, until the person affected can only see and discern between light and dark. Just a single operation can restore eyesight to the blind. During the procedure, an artificial lens is placed behind the pupil to replace the opaque lens. Take a look at our photo gallery and see for yourself the gift of sight which we were able to bring – with your donations. Thank you for making this possible.

Site and photo report

Saint Lucy Foundation

Medical team

Under the leadership of medical team PD Dr. med. Martina Knecht-Bösch and PD Dr. med. Pascal Knecht-Bösch, the Saint Lucy Foundation performs diagnostic services, eye surgery and staff training in some of the most impoverished areas around the world. Both doctors, as well as all other participants, donate their time and efforts free of charge and wholeheartedly lend further support by spending a portion of their vacation days working for the foundation.

Medical team

PD Dr. med. Martina Knecht-Bösch

Senior physician, Cornea Department at Vista Diagnostic in Zurich.

See CV

PD Dr. med. Pascal Knecht-Bösch

Managing director and owner of Augenpraxis Centerpassage in Wettingen.

See CV

Image-Bild

Contact

If you would like to join us in helping the visually impaired in some of the poorest parts of the world, please contact us here with your questions, suggestions or targeted donations.

Saint Lucy Foundation
Libellenweg 10
CH-6403 Küssnacht am Rigi

info@st-lucy.com
www.st-lucy.com

Donations

We greatly appreciate any and all support or donation, big or small. Thank you for your donation and for making this ongoing work possible.

Bank
CREDIT SUISSE AG, Schwyz

CHF account
Account number 1159047-51
IBAN CH55 0483 5115 9047 5100 0
Clearing number 4835
BIC / SWIFT CRESCHZZ80A

USD account
Account number 1159047-52
IBAN CH21 0483 5115 9047 5200 0
Clearing number 4835
BIC / SWIFT CRESCHZZ80A

2019/2020:
Projektausbau
in Tanzania
Image-Bild

Saint Lucy Foundation

Lichtblicke für Sehbehinderte in hilfsbedürftigen Regionen

Die Saint Lucy Foundation ist eine unabhängige, selbständige Schweizer Stiftung. Sie wurde von einem engagierten und heute pensionierten Schweizer Ärzteehepaar ins Leben gerufen, um weltweit mittellosen Sehbehinderten Hilfe anzubieten.

Alle Mitwirkenden setzen sich unentgeltlich, mit vollem Engagement und viel Herzblut für die Umsetzung des Stiftungszwecks ein, damit die getätigten Spenden möglichst vielen Bedürftigen die ersehnte Heilung bringen.

Saint Lucy Foundation

Hinschauen und möglichst viele benachteiligte Menschen vor der Erblindung schützen

Die 2013 gegründete Saint Lucy Foundation hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, möglichst vielen Menschen aus den bedürftigsten Regionen der Welt ihre Sehkraft zurück zu schenken respektive zu schärfen sowie die Prävention und Therapie von Augenkrankheiten zu verbessern.

Hierzu führt sie Operationen durch, liefert Medikamente, bildet einheimisches Personal aus, arbeitet mit anderen Organisationen zusammen und finanziert und/oder unterstützt medizinische Einrichtungen im Rahmen des Stiftungszwecks.

Ein gesundes Sehvermögen kann der erste wegweisende Schritt zurück in ein autonomes, selbstbestimmtes Leben bedeuten. Geben wir – zusammen – möglichst vielen benachteiligten Menschen diese Chance.

Vom Hoffnungsschimmer zum Lichtblick

Weltweit sind rund 39 Millionen Menschen blind. Von ihnen ist jeder zweite an einer dichten Linsentrübung, dem sogenannten grauen Star, erblindet. Dies ist mit einer kurzen operativen Intervention vollständig heilbar.

2019/2020:
Projektausbau
in Tanzania

Saint Lucy Foundation

Wir gehen dahin, wo andere wegschauen

Unser Augenmerk richteten wir insbesondere auf Kataraktpatientinnen und -patienten. Weltweit leidet jeder zweite blinde Mensch an Grauem Star. Die Ursachen für eine Katarakt sind vielfältig. Die Krankheit tritt meistens im Alter auf, in Entwicklungsgebieten 10 bis 15 Jahre früher als bei uns. Zum einen gibt es den Altersstar, meist hervorgerufen durch Stoffwechselerkrankungen und Alterung des Gewebes. Zum anderen kann er aber vererbt oder angeboren sein oder durch Verletzungen entstehen. Die Augenlinse trübt sich üblicherweise während Monaten ein und wird lichtundurchlässig, bis die Betroffenen nur noch Hell und Dunkel unterscheiden können. Mit einer einmaligen Operation kann den Erblindeten das Augenlicht vollständig zurückgebracht werden. Dabei wird die hinter der Pupille liegende, milchig trübe Linse in der Regel durch eine künstliche ersetzt. Sehen Sie in unserer Fotogalerie, was wir – mit Ihrer Unterstützung –  an Sehfreuden zurückbringen konnten. Danke, dass Sie unser Engagement unterstützen.

Einsatz- und Fotobericht

Saint Lucy Foundation

Das Ärzteteam

Unter der ärztlichen Leitung von PD Dr. med. Martina Knecht-Bösch und PD Dr. med. Pascal Knecht-Bösch führt die Saint Lucy Foundation Augen-Diagnostik, Augenoperationen und Personalschulungen in den bedürftigsten Regionen der Welt durch. Sie wie alle Mitwirkenden arbeiten unentgeltlich und stellen aus vollster Überzeugung einen Teil ihrer Ferientage der Stiftung zur Verfügung.

Ärzte

PD Dr. med. Martina Knecht-Bösch

Leitende Ärztin Hornhautabteilung bei Vista Diagnostic in Zürich.

CV sichten

PD Dr. med. Pascal Knecht-Bösch

Leiter und Inhaber der Augenpraxis Centerpassage in Wettingen.

CV sichten

Image-Bild

Kontakt

Wenn Sie sehbehinderten Menschen aus den ärmsten Regionen helfen möchten, kommen Sie auf uns zu. Mit Fragen, Hilfestellungen oder einer gezielten Spende.

Saint Lucy Foundation
Libellenweg 10
CH-6403 Küssnacht am Rigi

info@st-lucy.com
www.st-lucy.com

Spenden

Wir freuen uns über jede noch so kleine Unterstützung und Spende. Danke, dass Sie uns mit Ihrer Spende weitere Einsätze ermöglichen.

Bank
CREDIT SUISSE AG, Schwyz

CHF-Konto
Kontonummer 1159047-51
IBAN CH55 0483 5115 9047 5100 0
Clearingnummer 4835
BIC / SWIFT CRESCHZZ80A

USD-Konto
Kontonummer 1159047-52
IBAN CH21 0483 5115 9047 5200 0
Clearingnummer 4835
BIC / SWIFT CRESCHZZ80A